Workers from Europe

Nationals of countries within the European Economic Area (EEA) and from Switzerland have a right to live and work freely in the UK without registration or further restrictions.

The EEA comprises the 28 members of the European Union plus Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway; Switzerland is neither an EU or EEA member but part of the single market, which means Swiss nationals have the same rights to work in the UK as EEA nationals.

The 28 members of the EU are: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Republic of Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovenia, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, and the UK.